How To Watch Online Tuesday As The First Total Solar Eclipse Since 2017 Strikes South America

News

Tomorrow’s total solar eclipse will be livestreamed from South America. This artist’s impression shows how the total solar eclipse of 2 July 2019 could appear from ESO’s La Silla Observatory in Chile if there are no clouds. The Sun will be quite low in the western sky and, if the skies are clear, several planets and bright stars should be also visible.

M. Druckmüller, P. Aniol, K. Delcourte, P. Horálek, L. Calçada/ESO

It’s finally time for another total solar eclipse. For North Americans, it’s not as easy to see as the last when the “Great American Eclipse” brought totality to a narrow strip across the USA from Oregon to South Carolina. Tomorrow’s total solar eclipse is mostly over the South Pacific Ocean, but it does make land in central Chile and western Argentina, where the eclipse will occur late in the day around an hour before sunset.

Unlike the Great American Eclipse, which occurred high in the sky, this one will be visible close to the mountains, so could make for an even more awesome a spectacle. Here’s how to follow it from afar.

What time is the eclipse?

Here are the times when you should tune in where you are. During the “Great American Eclipse” of August 21, 2017, it was possible to watch a webcast for most of the 90 minutes or so that the moon’s shadow was crossing land. Although the shape of the path of totality isn’t that much different tomorrow, most of it is at sea. In fact, only the last seven minutes of a two hour+ event is over South America. So make sure you tune in sometime before these times to watch the last few minutes of a partial solar eclipse transform into a dramatic total solar eclipse.

Totality will come to Chile at 20:38 Universal Time (UT) on 2 July 2019, and to Argentina a few minutes later. That translates as these times in North America and Europe (for the exact time where you are, visit timeanddate.com/eclipse and enter your nearest town or city):

London, UK – 21:38 BST on 2 July 2019

Paris, France – 22:38 CEST

New York, USA – 16:38 EDT

Chicago, USA – 15:38 CDT

Denver, USA – 14:38 MDT

Phoenix, USA – 13:38 MST

Los Angeles, USA – 13:38 PDT

How to live stream the 2019 total solar eclipse on timeanddate.com

The Norway-based time website is prepping a live stream of the 2019 total solar eclipse on its website and also on YouTube. It begins a good 90 minutes before totality.

How to live stream the 2019 total solar eclipse on Exploratorium

Exploratorium will be set-up at the National Science Foundation’s Cerro Tololo Observatory in Chile’s Elqui Valley to broadcast the total solar eclipse from 13:00-14:00 PDT on 2 July 2019. It will be available in English and Spanish online, but also on Exploratorium’s Explore Total Solar Eclipse apps for iOS and Android.

If you’re in San Francisco you can head to the Exploratorium museum to watch the live feed.

How to live stream the 2019 total solar eclipse on Slooh

Although you will need to join up, the Slooh community do a great webcast and have one lined-up for tomorrow’s eclipse. Broadcasting here between 13:00 and 17:00 EDT, Slooh Astrophysicist Dr. Paige Godfrey will discuss particular eclipse phenomena and exactly what we are seeing when the Moon comes directly between the visual path of the Earth and the Sun.

How to live stream the 2019 total solar eclipse by the European Southern Observatory

Totality will linger for just under two minutes over La Silla, one of the European Southern Observatory’s (ESO) main locations in the southern hemisphere. The webcast will be available in HD on ESO’s website and on ESO’s Youtube Channel.

Disclaimer: I am editor of WhenIsTheNextEclipse.com

Articles You May Like

Discovery’s Last Ride
Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer Repair Spacewalk #1, Nov. 15, 2019
Big Stars | How the Universe Works

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *